Oklahoma State, TCU in Big 12 Title Game

Big 12

Courtesy TCU Athletics

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Tanner Kreitemeier lead No. 7 Oklahoma State to two wins over No. 20 Texas with game-winning hits in each game as the Cowboys advance to the Big 12 Title Game from the loser’s bracket with 3-1 and 6-4 wins over the Longhorns. Kreitemeier hit an RBI single in the eighth in game one to take a 2-1 lead and then hit a two-run single in the eighth in game two to give the Cowboys a 5-4 lead as he combined for a 3-for-8 day.

Connor Costello helped the game two effort with a two-run homer for Oklahoma State while Blake Battenfield pitched three scoreless innings in relief to get the win in game one and Brendan McCurry pitched a perfect ninth for his 18th save.

Brandon Finnegan, Trey Teakell and Riley Ferrell combine to strike out 11 hitters and allowed only an earned run as No. 19 Texas Christian downs Baylor 4-1 to advance to the Big 12 Championship Game. Finnegan struck out seven while Teakell moved to 5-0 and Ferrell snagged his 13th save in the winning effort.

Kevin Cron led the Horned Frogs’ offense with three hits, two RBI and a run scored which include the go-ahead RBI single in the seventh.

The winner between TCU and Oklahoma State will likely hold a National Seed in the NCAA Regionals.

About the Author

Mark West
Mark West grew up playing and loving baseball. In college, he found an interest in writing and reporting on sports. He graduated from Arkansas State University in 1999 with a Bachelor of Science in Radio and Television Broadcasting with a News emphasis and a minor in Political Science. Mark can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter @MarkWestCBC Mark began writing a few years ago informally about politics and sports on various blogs, but has focused primarily on baseball writing for the last two years. He loves Arkansas State Red Wolves baseball and writes about the games and the players for the Red Wolves and the Sun Belt Conference. Mark is a member of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, giving him official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year, and NCBWA All-America voting. Follow on Twitter @MarkWestCBC