Louisiana Lafayette, UT Arlington in Sun Belt Championship Game

Courtesy Ellman Photography UTA Sports Info

Courtesy Ellman Photography UTA Sports Info

MOBILE, Ala. Cody Boutte allowed two earned runs over seven innings on five hits and two walks to lead Louisiana Lafayette to a 4-3 win over Texas State Saturday at Stanky Field to advance to the Sun Belt Championship game on Sunday. Boutte recorded a strike out as he improved to 8-0 on the year while Matt Plitt held the Bobcats scoreless over the final 1.2 innings for his fourth save.

Caleb Adams paced the offense with a solo home run on a three hit day in which he scored twice. Blake Trahan had two hits including a two-run triple giving the Cajuns a 3-0 lead after the second inning.

Matt Shortall hit a game-winning, two-run double to the wall in right center to give UT Arlington an 8-7 win over Akansas State to advance to the Sun Betl Championship game in its’ first season in the league. Shortall was 0-for-4 coming into his at bat in the eighth before delivering the winning hit.

In a balanced offensive effort, Eric Tate contributed a two-run double to tie the game in the second at 2-2. Greg McCall and Darien McLemore each scored two runs in the winning effort.

The Mavericks and Cajuns square off on Sunday with ULL’s Greg Milhorn taking on UTA’s Jess Amedee in the Title game.

About the Author

Mark West
Mark West grew up playing and loving baseball. In college, he found an interest in writing and reporting on sports. He graduated from Arkansas State University in 1999 with a Bachelor of Science in Radio and Television Broadcasting with a News emphasis and a minor in Political Science. Mark can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter @MarkWestCBC Mark began writing a few years ago informally about politics and sports on various blogs, but has focused primarily on baseball writing for the last two years. He loves Arkansas State Red Wolves baseball and writes about the games and the players for the Red Wolves and the Sun Belt Conference. Mark is a member of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, giving him official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year, and NCBWA All-America voting. Follow on Twitter @MarkWestCBC