2014 Sun Belt Conference Baseball Championship Bracket Announced

2014 Sun Belt Conference Baseball ChampionshipMOBILE, Ala. – The 2014 Sun Belt Conference Baseball Championship Bracket was announced Saturday evening following the completion of conference play with No. 2 Louisiana Lafayette taking the top seed as expected. The Cajuns will face in-state rival Louisiana Monroe to open their tournament play with two teams they lost to this season, Western Kentucky and Texas State on their side of the bracket.

Louisiana Lafayette is 10-2 against teams on its’ side of the bracket including a 6-0 mark against ULM. Texas State is the four seed in the tournament and opens up against the five seed WKU. The Hilltoppers are 2-1 against the Bobcats this season and are 5-4 against teams in their bracket while the Bobcats are 3-6 against teams in this bracket. The Warhawks are 3-9 against teams in this bracket.

Texas Arlington is the two seed and will meet host-team South Alabama to open the tournament. The Mavericks swept the Jaguars in Mobile earlier this season and are 6-3 against teams in their draw while the Jags are 3-8. Arkansas State is the three seed and faces Troy to open the tournament are are 2-1 against the Trojans. The Red Wolves are 6-3 against teams in their bracket while Troy is 5-6.

The champions of the two double-elimination brackets will meet in a single-elimination championship game on Sunday.

Look for details on opening game pitching match-ups Tuesday evening.

About the Author

Mark West
Mark West grew up playing and loving baseball. In college, he found an interest in writing and reporting on sports. He graduated from Arkansas State University in 1999 with a Bachelor of Science in Radio and Television Broadcasting with a News emphasis and a minor in Political Science. Mark can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter @MarkWestCBC Mark began writing a few years ago informally about politics and sports on various blogs, but has focused primarily on baseball writing for the last two years. He loves Arkansas State Red Wolves baseball and writes about the games and the players for the Red Wolves and the Sun Belt Conference. Mark is a member of the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, giving him official votes in the Dick Howser Trophy, Regional Players of the Year, and NCBWA All-America voting. Follow on Twitter @MarkWestCBC